Dr. Dobb's Design Articles http://www.drdobbs.com//architecture-and-design Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us What Makes a Good Check-in? http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/what-makes-a-good-check-in/240168601 Few organizations have strong opinions and articulated policies on what a check-in should consist of. As long as the check-in is more or less usable in a code review, it's generally considered good enough. We can do better than this by making the contents of check-ins truly useful additions to the development process. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 03:35:00 -0400 Memory Leaks in iOS 7 http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/memory-leaks-in-ios-7/240168600 iOS Networking APIs are leaking memory. The good news: You can stop them. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 02:54:00 -0400 Developer Reading List http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/developer-reading-list/240168591 The best summer reads. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 08:02:00 -0400 The Best of the First Half http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/the-best-of-the-first-half/240168580 The most popular articles of the first half of the year, sprinkled with a few pieces carefully chosen by the editors. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 02:12:00 -0400 Accessing C++11 Features of the Android NDK http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/accessing-c11-features-of-the-android-nd/240168385 C++11 language features are supported in the NDK, but they require a non-default configuration. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 03:41:00 -0400 Firefox Release Engineering http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/firefox-release-engineering/240168409 A detailed look at a production pipeline that builds emergency patches and scheduled releases with equanimity. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 04:57:00 -0400 The New asyncio in Python 3.4: Servers, Protocols, and Transports http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/the-new-asyncio-in-python-34-servers-pro/240168408 Coding advanced asynchronous I/O with Python's new high-level streams API. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 01:44:00 -0400 The New asyncio Module in Python 3.4: Event Loops http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/the-new-asyncio-module-in-python-34-even/240168401 An extensible module for I/O management greatly facilitates handling event loops. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 03:54:00 -0400 Swift, Objectively http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/swift-objectively/240168424 Apple's new language, Swift, will be welcome primarily as an antidote to working in Objective-C. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 04:20:00 -0400 Jolt Awards 2014: The Best Testing Tools http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/jolt-awards-2014-the-best-testing-tools/240168372 The best testing tools of the past 12 months Tue, 03 Jun 2014 07:42:00 -0400 After Heartbleed: A Look at Languages that Support Provability http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/after-heartbleed-a-look-at-languages-tha/240168236 The open-source SPARK 2014 language can prove that code correctly matches specs. This capability closes off vulnerabilities and illuminates logic errors in code. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 03:24:00 -0400 ASP.NET MVC 5.1 http://www.drdobbs.com/windows/aspnet-mvc-51/240168353 Some handy long-sought-after features are included in the latest release. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 01:53:00 -0400 Where Is the Learning in Agile? http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/where-is-the-learning-in-agile/240168308 If we do not learn from our customers, especially what unique value they expect, we cannot delight them or compete well in the market. Tue, 27 May 2014 07:17:00 -0400 The Relationship Between Testability and Good Design http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/the-relationship-between-testability-and/240167101 Problems writing good unit tests reveal shortcomings in design and coding. Tue, 27 May 2014 01:22:00 -0400 Using Mocks in Python http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/using-mocks-in-python/240168251 The Python Mock Module enables you to create missing objects for your designs or reproduce expensive or volatile objects for your tests. With judicious use, mocks are an invaluable part of design, development, and testing. Thu, 22 May 2014 03:15:00 -0400 2014 Developer Salary Survey http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/2014-developer-salary-survey/240168195 Our survey of more than 2,200 U.S. developers shows salaries in a well-paid field are nudging up as the economy picks up steam. Tue, 13 May 2014 10:39:00 -0400 Things I Wish I'd Known Earlier http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/things-i-wish-id-known-earlier/240168189 There are so many lessons on the road to programming well — I just wish I'd learned these earlier. Tue, 13 May 2014 07:04:00 -0400 The Conflict at the Heart of Open Source http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/the-conflict-at-the-heart-of-open-source/240168123 A project's choice of a license will have significant effects on its ability to sustain itself. Tue, 06 May 2014 11:46:00 -0400 Basic Turns 50 http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/basic-turns-50/240168054 A language familiar to all: Pausing to look back on 50 years of attracting (and repelling) new programmers. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 11:42:00 -0400 Farewell, Devil's Advocate http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/farewell-devils-advocate/240167145 One of the finest writers and certainly the brightest wit in all of programming left a remarkable legacy of insightful, mordant, and densely rich commentary. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 07:36:00 -0400 Continuous Development: The New Maintenance Reality http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/continuous-development-the-new-maintenan/240167052 The Internet of Things will add so much programmability to devices that keeping software current will become a never-ending task. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 11:13:00 -0400 Lightweight Virtual Environments in Python 3.4 http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/lightweight-virtual-environments-in-pyth/240167069 Customizing Python's virtual environments for projects with conflicting library requirements or different Python versions is now easy in Python 3.3 and 3.4. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 07:03:00 -0400 Software Estimation: How Misperceptions Mean We Almost Always Get It Wrong http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/software-estimation-how-misperceptions-m/240166474 Why are we so woefully poor at estimating software projects? Tue, 08 Apr 2014 03:52:00 -0400 Android on x86: Java Native Interface and the Android Native Development Kit http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/android-on-x86-java-native-interface-and/240166271 JNI and the Android Native Development Kit work together to complete the mapping between Java and C/C++ and enhance performance Tue, 08 Apr 2014 03:08:00 -0400 How I Came to Write D http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/how-i-came-to-write-d/240165322 The path that led Walter Bright to write a language, now among the top 20 most used, began with curiosity — and an insult. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 02:34:00 -0400