Dr. Dobb's Mobile Articles http://www.drdobbs.com//mobile Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us Android on x86: Java Native Interface and the Android Native Development Kit http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/android-on-x86-java-native-interface-and/240166271 JNI and the Android Native Development Kit work together to complete the mapping between Java and C/C++ and enhance performance Tue, 08 Apr 2014 03:08:00 -0400 Jolt Awards: Mobile Development Tools http://www.drdobbs.com/joltawards/jolt-awards-mobile-development-tools/240166387 The best tools for the nuts-and-bolts of building mobile apps. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 00:35:00 -0500 IBM Without Its Business Machines http://www.drdobbs.com/cloud/ibm-without-its-business-machines/240165748 Big Blue's sale of its low-end server business is a significant move that should not be underestimated. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 10:23:00 -0500 Jolt Awards: Coding Tools http://www.drdobbs.com/joltawards/jolt-awards-coding-tools/240165725 The best IDEs and coding tools of the past 12 months Tue, 28 Jan 2014 06:54:00 -0500 Interoperating Between C++ and Objective-C http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/interoperating-between-c-and-objective-c/240165502 Calling a C++ constructor with parameters from Objective-C involves some tricky steps. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 02:21:00 -0500 The Best of 2013 http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/the-best-of-2013/240164956 The most popular articles of the year, sprinkled with a few pieces carefully chosen by the editors. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 03:21:00 -0500 2013 Developer Salary Survey http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/2013-developer-salary-survey/240163580 Our survey of more than 3,000 developers and managers shows that after several years of being flat, salaries are on the rise once again Tue, 05 Nov 2013 08:35:00 -0500 Developing Android Apps with Scala and Scaloid: Part 2 http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/developing-android-apps-with-scala-and-s/240162204 Starting with templates, Android features can be added quickly with a single line of DSL code. Tue, 08 Oct 2013 02:48:00 -0400 Jolt Awards: The Best Books http://www.drdobbs.com/joltawards/jolt-awards-the-best-books/240162065 Five notable books every serious programmer should read. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 07:18:00 -0400 Developing Android Apps with Scala and Scaloid: Part 1 http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/developing-android-apps-with-scala-and-s/240161584 Build a UI layout by writing type-safe Scala code and wire your logic into the layout Tue, 24 Sep 2013 03:58:00 -0400 After Ballmer, What? http://www.drdobbs.com/windows/after-ballmer-what/240160507 Microsoft's situation might be unique, but its inability to assess the present and the future correctly is shared by many vendors. Tue, 27 Aug 2013 07:33:00 -0400 Using Speech APIs in Windows Phone 8 http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/using-speech-apis-in-windows-phone-8/240159109 Combine voice commands, speech recognition, and text-to-speech to create a voice-driven UX for Windows Phone 8 apps. Mon, 29 Jul 2013 03:00:00 -0400 Windows Phone 8 App Development: Using Voice Commands http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/windows-phone-8-app-development-using-vo/240158739 Taking advantage new voice API features in Windows Phone 8 apps. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 03:48:00 -0400 Windows Phone 8 App Development: Getting Started http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/windows-phone-8-app-development-getting/240158292 Knowing what tools to use and how to configure your development environment will ease your path in developing apps targeting Windows Phone 8. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 02:26:00 -0400 The Ever-Fatter Thin Client http://www.drdobbs.com/web-development/the-ever-fatter-thin-client/240157951 Dumb terminals get intelligence. Phones become smart phones. Tablets sprout keyboards and become collapsible laptops. So much for the "post-PC" way of thinking. Tue, 09 Jul 2013 10:14:00 -0400 Reference Counting and Object Harvesting in Delphi http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/reference-counting-and-object-harvesting/240155664 The latest versions of Delphi reclaim unused object and memory automatically. This feature requires a new perspective on calls to <code>Free</code> and to destructors. Tue, 28 May 2013 17:12:00 -0400 So You Want to Write A Mobile App? Place Your Bets! http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/so-you-want-to-write-a-mobile-app-place/240155587 On top of everything else, you'll have to make big bets on hardware platforms and development approaches. This won't be easy. Tue, 28 May 2013 08:36:00 -0400 Why Aren't There Better Testing Tools? http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/why-arent-there-better-testing-tools/240155303 Static analysis, UI record and playback, and load testing dominate today's testing tools. Just like they did in the 1990s. Where's the progress? Tue, 21 May 2013 11:44:00 -0400 Test-Driving Development for the Firefox OS Phone http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/test-driving-development-for-the-firefox/240155290 Mozilla's Firefox OS delivers an easy way to develop and market apps for Android and the upcoming Mozilla-specific phone. Mike Riley takes a first look at developing apps for the platform. Tue, 21 May 2013 07:38:00 -0400 Dealing With All Our Stuff http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/dealing-with-all-our-stuff/240154150 Unneeded bits cost energy and mind space. Let's keep 'em to a minimum. Mon, 13 May 2013 09:22:00 -0400 Reusable Components Finally Arrive As Cloud-Based APIs http://www.drdobbs.com/cloud/reusable-components-finally-arrive-as-cl/240153438 After 40 years in the desert of incompatibility and limited reuse, we have crossed the river Jordan. Tue, 23 Apr 2013 07:01:00 -0400 Porting BlackBerry Z10 Apps to the Q10 http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/porting-blackberry-z10-apps-to-the-q10/240153291 With the release of the BlackBerry Q10 right around the corner, BlackBerry 10 application developers should be thinking about adapting their code to support the new devices. This article presents background and tips on development for this new handset. Tue, 23 Apr 2013 01:12:00 -0400 Building an Automotive Dashboard on Android http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/building-an-automotive-dashboard-on-andr/240152314 Developing for the in-car Android-based Asteroid Smart dashboard. Tue, 09 Apr 2013 03:05:00 -0400 The Quiet Revolution in Programming http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/the-quiet-revolution-in-programming/240152206 During the last two years, one of the longest eras in programming has quietly drawn to a close. Wed, 03 Apr 2013 07:14:00 -0400 The Death of Beta Testing? http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/the-death-of-beta-testing/240151159 Short release cycles, continuous deployment, automatic updates, and a fear of social media tattling on beta defects are causing vendors to forgo beta testing and find new ways to get useful user feedback. Tue, 19 Mar 2013 08:08:00 -0400