Dr. Dobb's Open Source Articles http://www.drdobbs.com//open-source Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us Why Build Your Java Projects with Gradle Rather than Ant or Maven? http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/why-build-your-java-projects-with-gradle/240168608 The default build tool for Android new star of build tools on the JVM is designed to ease scripting of complex, multi-language builds. Should you change to it, though, if you're using Ant or Maven? Tue, 08 Jul 2014 03:12:00 -0400 Got Google? http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/got-google/240168592 Google services are everywhere. But knowing which ones to include in new apps is difficult due to the company's perceived lack of long-term commitment to products and APIs. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 08:35:00 -0400 The Best of the First Half http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/the-best-of-the-first-half/240168580 The most popular articles of the first half of the year, sprinkled with a few pieces carefully chosen by the editors. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 02:12:00 -0400 Firefox Release Engineering http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/firefox-release-engineering/240168409 A detailed look at a production pipeline that builds emergency patches and scheduled releases with equanimity. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 04:57:00 -0400 Redmond's Remarkable Reversal http://www.drdobbs.com/windows/redmonds-remarkable-reversal/240168431 A company that topped the list of obvious casualties in the post-PC era has thrived due to surprising changes to the way it does things. Most especially, how it works with developers. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 02:54:00 -0400 The New asyncio in Python 3.4: Servers, Protocols, and Transports http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/the-new-asyncio-in-python-34-servers-pro/240168408 Coding advanced asynchronous I/O with Python's new high-level streams API. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 01:44:00 -0400 The New asyncio Module in Python 3.4: Event Loops http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/the-new-asyncio-module-in-python-34-even/240168401 An extensible module for I/O management greatly facilitates handling event loops. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 03:54:00 -0400 Building and Maintaining an Open-Source Community: How to Get Developer Attention http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/building-and-maintaining-an-open-source/240168415 Building an active community requires thoughtful planning, patience, support, and constant evangelism. Even then, any of several well-known errors can prevent a community from developing. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 03:30:00 -0400 After Heartbleed: A Look at Languages that Support Provability http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/after-heartbleed-a-look-at-languages-tha/240168236 The open-source SPARK 2014 language can prove that code correctly matches specs. This capability closes off vulnerabilities and illuminates logic errors in code. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 03:24:00 -0400 The Conflict at the Heart of Open Source http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/the-conflict-at-the-heart-of-open-source/240168123 A project's choice of a license will have significant effects on its ability to sustain itself. Tue, 06 May 2014 11:46:00 -0400 Simplifying Contract Testing http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/simplifying-contract-testing/240167128 Contract testing — the testing of specified interfaces and actions promised in documentation — is crucial to program validation, but difficult to do on Java classes that extend multiple interfaces. Tue, 06 May 2014 04:14:00 -0400 Farewell, Devil's Advocate http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/farewell-devils-advocate/240167145 One of the finest writers and certainly the brightest wit in all of programming left a remarkable legacy of insightful, mordant, and densely rich commentary. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 07:36:00 -0400 Lightweight Virtual Environments in Python 3.4 http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/lightweight-virtual-environments-in-pyth/240167069 Customizing Python's virtual environments for projects with conflicting library requirements or different Python versions is now easy in Python 3.3 and 3.4. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 07:03:00 -0400 LINQ-like List Manipulation in C++ http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/linq-like-list-manipulation-in-c/240166882 Using the open-source Cpplinq project to get Language-Integrated Query capabilities in C++11 Tue, 01 Apr 2014 03:44:00 -0400 Java 8 Arrives! http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/java-8-arrives/240166820 One of the biggest updates ever to a major language finally ships, delivering many new and very interesting features. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 12:07:00 -0400 Dave Thomas Interview: The Corruption of Agile; Ruby and Elixir; Katas and More http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/dave-thomas-interview-the-corruption-of/240166688 The pragmatic programmer who popularized Ruby and katas and was an original signatory of the Agile Manifesto discusses what's wrong with Agile, why he thinks Elixir is the next killer language, and how to design your own programming challenges. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 07:14:00 -0400 Unit Testing with Python http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/unit-testing-with-python/240165163 Python has substantial resources to enable unit testing Mon, 17 Mar 2014 03:52:00 -0400 Is goto Still Considered Harmful? http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/is-goto-still-considered-harmful/240166595 Apple's recent security bug was traced to a spurious goto. But that still doesn't resolve the debate over its use. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 06:37:00 -0400 The JavaScript Alternatives http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/the-javascript-alternatives/240166433 Three languages compete to make JavaScript easier to write and faster to execute. Which to choose? Tue, 04 Mar 2014 10:19:00 -0500 Jolt Awards: Mobile Development Tools http://www.drdobbs.com/joltawards/jolt-awards-mobile-development-tools/240166387 The best tools for the nuts-and-bolts of building mobile apps. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 00:35:00 -0500 Funding the .NET Development Ecosystem http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/funding-the-net-development-ecosystem/240166078 Microsoft's high prices for dev tools fund a cottage industry that has no parallel in computing. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 10:46:00 -0500 Nimrod: A New Systems Programming Language http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/nimrod-a-new-systems-programming-languag/240165321 A language with extensive metaprogramming support, generics and exception tracking built in, optional garbage collection, and rivals C in performance. And it can compile to C, C++, Objective-C, or JavaScript. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 02:33:00 -0500 Jolt Awards: Coding Tools http://www.drdobbs.com/joltawards/jolt-awards-coding-tools/240165725 The best IDEs and coding tools of the past 12 months Tue, 28 Jan 2014 06:54:00 -0500 The Rise And Fall of Languages in 2013 http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/the-rise-and-fall-of-languages-in-2013/240165192 Much happened in languages during a year that appeared static. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 06:09:00 -0500 Engineering Managers Should Code 30% of Their Time http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/engineering-managers-should-code-30-of-t/240165174 Lose contact with the code, and you lose the connection to your team and the project. How then to make the time to manage and code? The cofounder of MongoDB explains his approach. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 02:31:00 -0500