Dr. Dobb's C/C++ Blogs http://www.drdobbs.com//cpp Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us Social Processes and Heartbleed, Part 1 http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/social-processes-and-heartbleed-part-1/240167053 Why is <code>gets</code> still with us? Wed, 16 Apr 2014 04:12:00 -0400 How Overloading Interacts With C Compatibility http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/how-overloading-interacts-with-c-compati/240167024 The social properties of a programming language's user community affect the technical details of the language itself. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 03:22:00 -0400 The Nightmare of Binary Compatibility http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/the-nightmare-of-binary-compatibility/240166914 Wasn't C compatibility a major reason that C++ was designed the way it was? If so, why not write that desire into the standard? Wed, 02 Apr 2014 07:19:00 -0400 Compiler Warnings: Calling the User-Defined Default Constructor from Objective-C++ Code http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/compiler-warnings-calling-the-user-defin/240166879 Interoperating between Objective-C and C++ code requires careful work -- as constructor calls vary, depending on which compiler you use. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 07:12:00 -0400 The Mixed Blessings of Compatibility http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/the-mixed-blessings-of-compatibility/240166825 Let's explore the implications of C++'s intent to act as an extension to C. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 04:31:00 -0400 Why Do Even Trivial Improvements Take So Long To Adopt? http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/why-do-even-trivial-improvements-take-so/240166706 Changing how a programming system behaves is much harder than adding new behavior &mdash; even when the change is a clear improvement. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 06:15:00 -0400 A Problem So Simple That It Took Decades To Solve http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/a-problem-so-simple-that-it-took-decades/240166611 What is the ideal default precision for floating-point output? Thu, 13 Mar 2014 02:05:00 -0400 When the Simplest Case Is One Of The Hardest To Get Right http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/when-the-simplest-case-is-one-of-the-har/240166472 Whenever we do floating-point input, we know exactly what the input is, and we also know exactly what precision the result should have. The hard problem, then, is how to specify the behavior of floating-point output. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 05:01:00 -0500 More Accurate + Faster = Better, Right? http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/more-accurate-faster-better-right/240166332 "At least as precise" is sometimes just a polite way of saying "loosely specified." Thu, 27 Feb 2014 02:22:00 -0500 Problems When Linking Objective-C and C++ Code http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/problems-when-linking-objective-c-and-c/240166238 Interoperating between Objective-C and C/C++ code presents several linker challenges, some of which are addressed in these recipes. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 09:11:00 -0500 The Temptation For Implementations To Cut Corners http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/the-temptation-for-implementations-to-cu/240166212 It would be useful if all conversions were as accurate as possible and, independently, were always done in exactly the same way. But complications can impede these goals. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 04:46:00 -0500 Accurate Floating-Point Input: Several Contexts, One Behavior http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/accurate-floating-point-input-several-co/240166140 Let's look at some consequences of floating-point conversion. Mon, 17 Feb 2014 03:49:00 -0500 Calling an Objective-C Method from a C++ Class http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/calling-an-objective-c-method-from-a-c-c/240166131 A simple renaming trick will get rid of all the error messages. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 06:05:00 -0500 Floating-Point Input and Output Are Not Symmetric http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/floating-point-input-and-output-are-not/240165984 Floating-point output is difficult because the number of digits needed to represent the result exactly might be very large, and it is not easy to figure out how many of those digits are needed to preserve the values being converted. Floating-point input has almost the opposite problems. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 02:41:00 -0500 Two Days of C++ with Bjarne Stroustrup and Herb Sutter http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/two-days-of-c-with-bjarne-stroustrup-and/240165951 Learning from the C++ masters. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 15:58:00 -0500 Why Is Exact Floating-Point Output So Hard? http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/why-is-exact-floating-point-output-so-ha/240165791 Every binary floating-point number is equivalent to what we might call a <i>binary fixed-point number</i>: a sequence of bits with a binary point separating the integer part from the fractional part. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 05:52:00 -0500 Even Simple Floating-Point Output Is Complicated http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/even-simple-floating-point-output-is-com/240165594 The root of the problem is that people usually write numbers in base 10 and computers usually store numbers in base 2. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 04:53:00 -0500 Why Language Designers Tolerate Undefined Behavior http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/why-language-designers-tolerate-undefine/240165466 Here is my first example of the tension between theoretical and socially inspired solutions to technical problems in programming-language design. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 06:00:00 -0500 Social Processes and the Design of Programming Languages http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/social-processes-and-the-design-of-progr/240165221 "A proof does not in itself significantly raise our confidence in the probable truth of the theorem it purports to prove." Wed, 08 Jan 2014 02:43:00 -0500 Testing Is Not Verification and Vice Versa http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/testing-is-not-verification-and-vice-ver/240165079 Internal validity checking might be able to reveal bugs that neither black- nor white-box testing would be likely to encounter. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 04:14:00 -0500 Not All Bugs Are Random http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/not-all-bugs-are-random/240165035 By looking at a program's structure, we can sometimes predict circumstances in which it is particularly likely to fail. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 07:55:00 -0500 Testing Behavior, Not Just Results http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/testing-behavior-not-just-results/240164901 When you were a student, did you ever lose partial credit for an exam question that you answered correctly because you did so for the wrong reason? Or because you didn't show your work? Hold that thought. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 08:22:00 -0500 How Can One Test a Program's Average Performance? http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/how-can-one-test-a-programs-average-perf/240164691 The standard-library <code>sort</code> function. This function typically implements the Quicksort algorithm, which sorts an <i>n</i>-element sequence in <i>O(n</i> log <i>n)</i> time &mdash; on average. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 03:40:00 -0500 Performance Bugs: Not Just Hard To Detect, But Hard To Define http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/performance-bugs-not-just-hard-to-detect/240164448 Test-driven development is among the most important ideas about how to develop software in the past 20 years or so. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 00:05:00 -0500 Performance Bugs Can Be Hard to Detect http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/performance-bugs-can-be-hard-to-detect/240164327 The more abstract a program is, the harder it is to see the details of what happens in each individual step of that program. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 09:58:00 -0500