Dr. Dobb's Embedded Systems Blogs http://www.drdobbs.com//embedded-systems Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us Inside an Automated State Machine http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/inside-an-automated-state-machine/240167066 I was pleased to see that the generated code was reasonably easy to understand Tue, 15 Apr 2014 04:45:00 -0400 State of Automation http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/state-of-automation/240166926 The truth is, I have mixed feelings about automated tools for code generation Mon, 07 Apr 2014 06:57:00 -0400 Easy Verilog Test Benches http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/easy-verilog-test-benches/240166891 I wouldn't dare try to code up a massive test bench like the ones I use for my CPU designs using this method Tue, 01 Apr 2014 06:54:00 -0400 On the Bench http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/on-the-bench/240166783 You can use the very cool cloud-based system provided by EDA Playground Mon, 24 Mar 2014 06:33:00 -0400 The Kitchen Zynq http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/the-kitchen-zynq/240166645 When you are ready, you can ask Vivado to export your project to the Xilinx SDK Tue, 18 Mar 2014 06:54:00 -0400 Zynq Part 2: The Adventure Starts http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/zynq-part-2-the-adventure-starts/240166596 I can't overemphasize how much work the tools are doing on our behalf Tue, 11 Mar 2014 07:43:00 -0400 FPG, Eh? http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/fpg-eh/240166438 The specs are impressive: A dual core Cortex A9 CPU that can run at 1GHZ Tue, 04 Mar 2014 04:48:00 -0500 High Capacity http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/high-capacity/240166346 What's the difference between a motor, a generator, and a transformer? Wed, 26 Feb 2014 01:55:00 -0500 Resistance Is Futile http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/resistance-is-futile/240166196 Abstractions make things simple, but sometimes you have to dig under the abstractions and understand what really happens so you can design an embedded system that works. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 04:13:00 -0500 Abstract Art and Embedded Systems http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/abstract-art-and-embedded-systems/240166117 Real-world applications quickly tax our simple abstractions Thu, 13 Feb 2014 05:05:00 -0500 Jingoism http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/jingoism/240165911 If you want to use special techniques to get performance out of the not-Arduino on board, then that's fine. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 01:27:00 -0500 Galileo: The Slowest Fast Computer Around? http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/galileo-the-slowest-fast-computer-around/240165716 Trying to marry Linux and Arduino together isn't giving me a good feeling and I'll tell you why. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 02:20:00 -0500 Building Android Apps with TouchDevelop http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/building-android-apps-with-touchdevelop/240165507 The cross platform nature of this tool is amazing. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 01:27:00 -0500 Arduino Real Time http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/arduino-real-time/240165395 I was interested in NilRTOS since it is quite small and the installation was simple. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 06:51:00 -0500 To Be Continued: Local Continuations with the Protothreads Library http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/to-be-continued-local-continuations-with/240165197 The GNU C compiler defines the && operator that allows you to get the address of a label as a constant void pointer. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 06:45:00 -0500 New Threads http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/new-threads/240164996 Preemption can make real time system performance prediction difficult. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 03:35:00 -0500 Big Fish Syndrome http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/big-fish-syndrome/240164753 At what point will it make sense to have an operating system and all that implies for any project no matter how small? Fri, 13 Dec 2013 08:21:00 -0500 Write Once, Debug on Arduino http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/write-once-debug-on-arduino/240164514 Can you run Java programs on the Arduino? Maybe. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 08:18:00 -0500 Common Sens(ors) http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/common-sensors/240164297 Reality is a pretty chaotic environment and requires a bit of thinking to get those messy real world signals into our nice neat digital world. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 09:29:00 -0500 Is It Hot in Here? http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/is-it-hot-in-here/240164053 Precision measurements take special care. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 09:59:00 -0500 Come a Little Bit Closer http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/come-a-little-bit-closer/240163812 Part of designing effective systems is knowing the range of options available for interacting with the physical world and evaluating their relative merit. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 18:34:00 -0500 Synchronicity http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/synchronicity/240163582 Slack time becomes very important when you are connecting an input to a system (or part of a system) that uses a different clock (including no clock at all). Tue, 05 Nov 2013 09:28:00 -0500 Flip Flop Holding http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/flip-flop-holding/240163311 Any of the flip flops that require a clock have two key parameters that are crucial to understand if you are going to do any sort of digital logic design: setup time and hold time Wed, 30 Oct 2013 02:42:00 -0400 Scratching the Arduino Itch http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/scratching-the-arduino-itch/240162910 I do a lot of work with local schools, talking about engineering, ham radio, rocketry, robotics, and -- of course -- embedded systems. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 08:27:00 -0400 Flipping Verilog http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/flipping-verilog/240162676 The key difference between a sequential UDP and a combinatorial one (the ones that act like look-up tables) is the use of the <code>reg</code> keyword in the output declaration. Tue, 15 Oct 2013 11:03:00 -0400