Dr. Dobb's Testing Blogs http://www.drdobbs.com//testing Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us Testing Behavior, Not Just Results http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/testing-behavior-not-just-results/240164901 When you were a student, did you ever lose partial credit for an exam question that you answered correctly because you did so for the wrong reason? Or because you didn't show your work? Hold that thought. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 08:22:00 -0500 New Year's Resolution: No More Bugs http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/new-years-resolution-no-more-bugs/240145857 Someone once told me that my job (and all my colleagues) should be eventually eliminated because they were an unnecessary expense. Instead, he said, it would be cheaper to never have any failures. Tue, 08 Jan 2013 18:39:00 -0500 Debugging by Hypothesis http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/debugging-by-hypothesis/240144365 There's a technical term for people who claim that their programs don't compile because of a compiler failure rather than a bug in their own programs: <i>arrogant</i>. Thu, 13 Dec 2012 04:34:00 -0500 Remote Mobile Debugging in Firefox 15 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/remote-mobile-debugging-in-firefox-15/240005346 Firefox 15 has a cool new remote debugging feature for mobile developers. Fri, 17 Aug 2012 03:02:41 -0400 Wall Street and the Mismanagement of Software http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/wall-street-and-the-mismanagement-of-sof/240005196 How Knight Capital becomes a knight errant when it came to software design and delivery. Wed, 08 Aug 2012 09:47:00 -0400 techBASIC 2.0 Now Available http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/techbasic-20-now-available/232900398 techBASIC is a really powerful platform for students and individuals interested in learning how to program using Post PC hardware. Tue, 24 Apr 2012 03:35:25 -0400 Android on Android http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/android-on-android/232602118 The PC is the new mainframe, and the tablet is the new PC. Tue, 06 Mar 2012 10:10:06 -0500 Keeping A Healthy Tech Diet http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/keeping-a-healthy-tech-diet/232600021 Having spent the last six months using iOS as my primary mobile platform, I decided to live in the Android world for a spell. Thu, 02 Feb 2012 02:33:13 -0500 techBASIC and Seeed Studio's HiJack Dev Kit http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/techbasic-and-seeed-studios-hijack-dev-k/232301310 Wed, 04 Jan 2012 15:32:11 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World, Part 4 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-part-4/232300307 I am a big fan of writing code from a tablet. Laptops can't beat the battery life a tablet provides, nor can laptops compete with tablets on size and weight comparisons. Sat, 10 Dec 2011 02:44:31 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World, Part 3 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-part-3/232200610 A year from now, my PC will be a relic from the past, like IBM Selectric Typewriters and CRT monitors Sun, 04 Dec 2011 17:51:59 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World, Part 2 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-part-2/231903322 Android and iOS devices and the software I use to achieve my programming objectives. Tue, 22 Nov 2011 01:49:02 -0500 Pretzel Logic http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/pretzel-logic/231902903 I want to show you what some very simple logic circuits in Verilog look like. Sat, 12 Nov 2011 06:24:00 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World, Part 1 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-part-1/231902835 The latest trend that has captured my attention is the impact of a Post-PC world on software development. I'm not talking about how we are using our PCs to run mobile device emulators and simulators to write software for those platforms. I'm talking about actually using those new hardware devices to write code. Fri, 11 Nov 2011 01:25:37 -0500 Dark Corners and Social Forces http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/dark-corners-and-social-forces/231902648 If you are thinking of solving a problem in an unusual way, you should have a reason for doing so. The more unusual the solution, the stronger the reason should be. Wed, 09 Nov 2011 05:18:00 -0500 Electronic Legos http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/electronic-legos/231902428 Each type of programmable logic device has its own peculiarities, and this week I want to look at what's available. Fri, 04 Nov 2011 17:00:00 -0400 Bugs in Dark Corners http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/bugs-in-dark-corners/231901682 Today I would like to point out that programming in an unfamiliar style has another hazard: It is more likely to uncover the compiler bugs that often lurk in dark corners. Wed, 26 Oct 2011 05:50:00 -0400