Dr. Dobb's Tools Blogs http://www.drdobbs.com//tools Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us Don't Develop GUI Tests, Teach Your App To Test Itself! http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/dont-develop-gui-tests-teach-your-app-to/240168468 While developing native GTK- and Cocoa-based versions of the Plastic GUI, my team and I faced the challenge of developing a new test suite. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 04:09:00 -0400 My Big Company Code Interview http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/my-big-company-code-interview/240166992 It's been years since I gave up on chat interviews. It just seems like these don't work so well &mdash; we all feel like we are insightful judges of candidate quality, but somehow the people we hire just don't always turn out as well as we hope. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 03:36:00 -0400 You Can't Impose An Agile Process http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/you-cant-impose-an-agile-process/240166038 To be effective, select your tools and develop your own processes Mon, 10 Feb 2014 04:35:00 -0500 BodyCom Development Kit http://www.drdobbs.com/security/bodycom-development-kit/240153458 Use your body's electric field to authenticate Tue, 23 Apr 2013 07:27:00 -0400 Continuous Debugging http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/continuous-debugging/240148346 I propose that the next generation of IDEs create an environment of continuous debugging, to be integrated into the continuous integration paradigm. In other words, from the moment I begin coding in an editor, I want the IDE to enter debug mode, attempting to execute the project and update its execution state while I type. Fri, 22 Feb 2013 04:55:20 -0500 Home Thermostat Management from the Cloud http://www.drdobbs.com/cloud/home-thermostat-management-from-the-clou/240012615 Arrayent's technology was recently embedded in an Internet-enabled thermostat from Hunter Fan. Wed, 31 Oct 2012 06:20:00 -0400 Remote Mobile Debugging in Firefox 15 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/remote-mobile-debugging-in-firefox-15/240005346 Firefox 15 has a cool new remote debugging feature for mobile developers. Fri, 17 Aug 2012 03:02:41 -0400 Wall Street and the Mismanagement of Software http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/wall-street-and-the-mismanagement-of-sof/240005196 How Knight Capital becomes a knight errant when it came to software design and delivery. Wed, 08 Aug 2012 09:47:00 -0400 Exercise While You Code http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/exercise-while-you-code/240004886 Interview with Andrew Reese, who works in secure program coding, and is the grandson of the inventor of the Reese&#8217;s Peanut Butter Cup Fri, 03 Aug 2012 06:36:00 -0400 Is the Future Fine-Grained Or Coarse-Grained Parallelism? http://www.drdobbs.com/parallel/is-the-future-fine-grained-or-coarse-gra/240004067 Coarse-grained parallelism might well be on the cusp of wide popularity, but multithreading is sure to become integral to most programming. Thu, 19 Jul 2012 13:37:00 -0400 Measuring Performance for Analytics, Decision Support, and the Data Warehouse http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/measuring-performance-for-analytics-deci/240003170 The Transaction Processing Council (TPC) produces specifications for benchmarks to compare hardware and software configurations used for applications such as online transaction processing (OLTP) and decision support. Wed, 04 Jul 2012 13:03:00 -0400 C++11: unique_ptr http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/c11-uniqueptr/240002708 There are a lot of great features in C++11, but <code>unique_ptr</code> stands out in the area of code hygiene. Simply put, this is a magic bullet for dynamically created objects. Tue, 26 Jun 2012 06:37:00 -0400 100 GB to 30,000 GB: Size, Speed, and Benchmarks http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/100-gb-to-30000-gb-size-speed-and-benchm/240002505 Performance, data integrity, and ease of use are key characteristics to look for when comparing database systems. Thu, 21 Jun 2012 11:43:00 -0400 Easy-to-Use ARM System on a Board http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/easy-to-use-arm-system-on-a-board/232901444 Raspberry Pi makes creating and programming ARM-based PCs trivially easy and a great deal of fun Thu, 03 May 2012 20:00:00 -0400 Java 7u4, JavaFX 2.1, and NetBeans 7.1.2 http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/java-7u4-javafx-21-and-netbeans-712/232901064 Garbage First (G1) garbage collector, Mac support, a brand new JVM implementation, and more goodies. Thu, 26 Apr 2012 14:35:59 -0400 techBASIC 2.0 Now Available http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/techbasic-20-now-available/232900398 techBASIC is a really powerful platform for students and individuals interested in learning how to program using Post PC hardware. Tue, 24 Apr 2012 03:35:25 -0400 Visual Studio 11: The Early Release http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/visual-studio-11-the-early-release/232602709 In this article, I'll show you how a little thing like a lambda can make a big difference in your coding style. Thu, 15 Mar 2012 14:23:00 -0400 Android on Android http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/android-on-android/232602118 The PC is the new mainframe, and the tablet is the new PC. Tue, 06 Mar 2012 10:10:06 -0500 Iterators and iostreams http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/iterators-and-iostreams/232600539 In a previous post, I bemoaned the fact that the C++ iterators that perform stream I/O use the insertion and extraction operators, making them unsuitable for binary data compression. It looks like I spoke too soon. Thu, 09 Feb 2012 10:00:00 -0500 Keeping A Healthy Tech Diet http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/keeping-a-healthy-tech-diet/232600021 Having spent the last six months using iOS as my primary mobile platform, I decided to live in the Android world for a spell. Thu, 02 Feb 2012 02:33:13 -0500 MPLabX on Linux http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/mplabx-on-linux/232500490 An MPLAB project walk through Sun, 15 Jan 2012 11:26:00 -0500 Supercomputing, The Cloud, Big Data, and NoSQL http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/supercomputing-the-cloud-big-data-and-no/232400331 Sometimes technology that has become trendy is a branch on an evolutionary tree; other times it's a revolutionary departure from the long-established status quo. Fri, 13 Jan 2012 04:54:00 -0500 techBASIC and Seeed Studio's HiJack Dev Kit http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/techbasic-and-seeed-studios-hijack-dev-k/232301310 Wed, 04 Jan 2012 15:32:11 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World, Part 4 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-part-4/232300307 I am a big fan of writing code from a tablet. Laptops can't beat the battery life a tablet provides, nor can laptops compete with tablets on size and weight comparisons. Sat, 10 Dec 2011 02:44:31 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World, Part 3 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-part-3/232200610 A year from now, my PC will be a relic from the past, like IBM Selectric Typewriters and CRT monitors Sun, 04 Dec 2011 17:51:59 -0500