Dr. Dobb's Blogs http://www.drdobbs.com//author/6835 Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us BodyCom Development Kit http://www.drdobbs.com/security/bodycom-development-kit/240153458 Use your body's electric field to authenticate Tue, 23 Apr 2013 07:27:00 -0400 Home Thermostat Management from the Cloud http://www.drdobbs.com/cloud/home-thermostat-management-from-the-clou/240012615 Arrayent's technology was recently embedded in an Internet-enabled thermostat from Hunter Fan. Wed, 31 Oct 2012 06:20:00 -0400 Remote Mobile Debugging in Firefox 15 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/remote-mobile-debugging-in-firefox-15/240005346 Firefox 15 has a cool new remote debugging feature for mobile developers. Fri, 17 Aug 2012 03:02:41 -0400 Exercise While You Code http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/exercise-while-you-code/240004886 Interview with Andrew Reese, who works in secure program coding, and is the grandson of the inventor of the Reese&#8217;s Peanut Butter Cup Fri, 03 Aug 2012 06:36:00 -0400 The Parrot Asteroid Development Experience http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/the-parrot-asteroid-development-experien/240001339 Is That An Android In Your Car? Thu, 31 May 2012 17:44:00 -0400 Easy-to-Use ARM System on a Board http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/easy-to-use-arm-system-on-a-board/232901444 Raspberry Pi makes creating and programming ARM-based PCs trivially easy and a great deal of fun Thu, 03 May 2012 20:00:00 -0400 techBASIC 2.0 Now Available http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/techbasic-20-now-available/232900398 techBASIC is a really powerful platform for students and individuals interested in learning how to program using Post PC hardware. Tue, 24 Apr 2012 03:35:25 -0400 Wearable Computing Evolves http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/wearable-computing-evolves/232900211 With tablets becoming the new PCs, wearables could become the new mobiles. Thu, 12 Apr 2012 07:13:45 -0400 Android on Android http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/android-on-android/232602118 The PC is the new mainframe, and the tablet is the new PC. Tue, 06 Mar 2012 10:10:06 -0500 WIMM One Developer Review http://www.drdobbs.com/embedded-systems/wimm-one-developer-review/232601465 While not quite as small as Apple's latest iPod Nano, the WIMM One is still small enough to fit on a large wrist or wear as a pendant. Mon, 27 Feb 2012 09:20:21 -0500 Keeping A Healthy Tech Diet http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/keeping-a-healthy-tech-diet/232600021 Having spent the last six months using iOS as my primary mobile platform, I decided to live in the Android world for a spell. Thu, 02 Feb 2012 02:33:13 -0500 techBASIC and Seeed Studio's HiJack Dev Kit http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/techbasic-and-seeed-studios-hijack-dev-k/232301310 Wed, 04 Jan 2012 15:32:11 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World Series http://www.drdobbs.com/cloud/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-series/232500367 Sun, 01 Jan 2012 05:59:00 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World, Part 4 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-part-4/232300307 I am a big fan of writing code from a tablet. Laptops can't beat the battery life a tablet provides, nor can laptops compete with tablets on size and weight comparisons. Sat, 10 Dec 2011 02:44:31 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World, Part 3 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-part-3/232200610 A year from now, my PC will be a relic from the past, like IBM Selectric Typewriters and CRT monitors Sun, 04 Dec 2011 17:51:59 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World, Part 2 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-part-2/231903322 Android and iOS devices and the software I use to achieve my programming objectives. Tue, 22 Nov 2011 01:49:02 -0500 Coding in a Post-PC World, Part 1 http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/coding-in-a-post-pc-world-part-1/231902835 The latest trend that has captured my attention is the impact of a Post-PC world on software development. I'm not talking about how we are using our PCs to run mobile device emulators and simulators to write software for those platforms. I'm talking about actually using those new hardware devices to write code. Fri, 11 Nov 2011 01:25:37 -0500 Design & Architecture Jolt Awards http://www.drdobbs.com/joltawards/design-architecture-jolt-awards/231001803 Design, Architecture, and Planning category open for nominations Thu, 14 Jul 2011 08:40:00 -0400 Tower Review: Git'ing Around the Easy Way http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/tower-review-giting-around-the-easy-way/231000597 Tower makes working with Git repositories a breeze Tue, 28 Jun 2011 08:05:00 -0400 OpenGL iPhone Games with Cocos2D Review http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/opengl-iphone-games-with-cocos2d-review/231000130 iOS developer Todd Moore has recorded a series of five videos with O'Reilly Media that showcases Cocos2D for iPhone in a conversational screencast format. Read on to learn if it is worth the nearly 20-dollar price to stream/download the videos. Tue, 21 Jun 2011 13:16:00 -0400 Building Applications in the Cloud Book Review http://www.drdobbs.com/parallel/building-applications-in-the-cloud-book/229601352 Author <a href="http://blog.coredumped.org/">Chris Moyer</a> offers assistance in the form of <i>Building Applications in the Cloud</i>. Read on to find out if his book hits the mark. Fri, 20 May 2011 13:09:00 -0400 The Book of CSS3 Review http://www.drdobbs.com/web-development/the-book-of-css3-review/229403157 With the advent of CSS3 support in today's modern browsers, web designers and developers have more control over typography and graphic layouts than ever before. Learning these nuances just got easier with Peter Gasston's <i>The Book of CSS3</i>. Read on for my review. Tue, 10 May 2011 09:24:00 -0400 Adobe's Upcoming Flash Builder Release http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/adobes-upcoming-flash-builder-release/229401389 With yesterday's news of Adobe's upcoming Flash Builder 4.5 release, Adobe is leaping forward with both feet in recognizing the so-called 'Post PC' era of computing. Tue, 12 Apr 2011 05:25:00 -0400 Arduino Cookbook Review http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/arduino-cookbook-review/229400892 The Arduino has become a white-hot topic these days by granting the ability to allow anyone with a computer, a 30-dollar Arduino, and an incentive to route electrons through sensors and actuators and make them do interesting things. The latest book to make it to this topical pile-on is technologist Michael Margolis' <i>Arduino Cookbook</i>. Does it have the essential recipes to satisfy the discerning palettes of Arduino enthusiasts? Read on to find out. Tue, 05 Apr 2011 03:37:00 -0400 R Cookbook Review http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/r-cookbook-review/229400288 The timing is right for O'Reilly to have published their follow up to their Nutshell reference, the <i>R Cookbook</i> by Paul Teetor. Will this latest book on the language further promote its adoption? Read on to find out. Thu, 24 Mar 2011 19:48:00 -0400