Dr. Dobb's Cloud Articles http://www.drdobbs.com//cloud Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us Redmond's Remarkable Reversal http://www.drdobbs.com/windows/redmonds-remarkable-reversal/240168431 A company that topped the list of obvious casualties in the post-PC era has thrived due to surprising changes to the way it does things. Most especially, how it works with developers. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 02:54:00 -0400 How Much Development and Test Infrastructure Capacity Do You Really Need? http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/how-much-development-and-test-infrastruc/240168330 With good metrics and queuing theory, it's possible to accurately compute your needs. Fulfilling the requirements, then becomes the tricky part. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 01:06:00 -0400 2014 Developer Salary Survey http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/2014-developer-salary-survey/240168195 Our survey of more than 2,200 U.S. developers shows salaries in a well-paid field are nudging up as the economy picks up steam. Tue, 13 May 2014 10:39:00 -0400 Java 8 Arrives! http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/java-8-arrives/240166820 One of the biggest updates ever to a major language finally ships, delivering many new and very interesting features. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 12:07:00 -0400 Jolt Awards: Mobile Development Tools http://www.drdobbs.com/joltawards/jolt-awards-mobile-development-tools/240166387 The best tools for the nuts-and-bolts of building mobile apps. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 00:35:00 -0500 Developer Reading List http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/developer-reading-list/240166296 Java 8, JavaScript, Functional Programming, and Software Engineering Tue, 25 Feb 2014 08:02:00 -0500 IBM Without Its Business Machines http://www.drdobbs.com/cloud/ibm-without-its-business-machines/240165748 Big Blue's sale of its low-end server business is a significant move that should not be underestimated. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 10:23:00 -0500 The Dangerous Art of Predicting Tech Directions http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/the-dangerous-art-of-predicting-tech-dir/240165376 Predicting the future is a common rite as the new year unfolds. But thoughtful extrapolation of where events will lead is difficult and often subtle work. How do the pros do it? And what then can we predict? Tue, 14 Jan 2014 03:29:00 -0500 The Best of 2013 http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/the-best-of-2013/240164956 The most popular articles of the year, sprinkled with a few pieces carefully chosen by the editors. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 03:21:00 -0500 Using the Microsoft C++ REST SDK http://www.drdobbs.com/windows/using-the-microsoft-c-rest-sdk/240164544 The new SDK enables you to stay in C++ when consuming REST services Tue, 10 Dec 2013 03:13:00 -0500 Do All Roads Lead Back to SQL? http://www.drdobbs.com/database/do-all-roads-lead-back-to-sql/240162452 After distancing themselves from SQL, NoSQL products are moving towards transactional models as "NewSQL" gains popularity. What happened? Mon, 02 Dec 2013 09:11:00 -0500 Understanding What Big Data Can Deliver http://www.drdobbs.com/database/understanding-what-big-data-can-deliver/240162591 It's easy to err by pushing data to fit a projected model. Insights come, however, from accepting the data's ability to depict what is going on, without imposing an a priori bias. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 09:06:00 -0500 Microsoft Visual Studio 2013 Review http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/microsoft-visual-studio-2013-review/240163830 Many useful additions make this an attractive release, but writing Windows Store apps remains clumsy work. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 09:15:00 -0500 Applying the Big Data Lambda Architecture http://www.drdobbs.com/database/applying-the-big-data-lambda-architectur/240162604 A look inside a Hadoop-based project that matches connections in social media by leveraging the highly scalable lambda architecture. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 01:50:00 -0500 Doing It Right: How Microsoft Made the Right Bets on Azure http://www.drdobbs.com/cloud/doing-it-right-how-microsoft-made-the-ri/240163573 By forgoing walled gardens and providing universal tools, Microsoft has made Azure an attractive development platform. Tue, 05 Nov 2013 10:36:00 -0500 2013 Developer Salary Survey http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/2013-developer-salary-survey/240163580 Our survey of more than 3,000 developers and managers shows that after several years of being flat, salaries are on the rise once again Tue, 05 Nov 2013 08:35:00 -0500 Machine Learning with Apache Mahout: Refining the Recommender http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/machine-learning-with-apache-mahout-refi/240163537 Mahout components implement popular algorithms and can be unplugged easily when no longer needed. Tue, 05 Nov 2013 01:47:00 -0500 Machine Learning with Apache Mahout: The Lay of the Land http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/machine-learning-with-apache-mahout-the/240163272 Mahout greatly simplifies extracting recommendations and relationships from input datasets. Here we look at setting up Mahout and running its recommender on a small data sample. Tue, 29 Oct 2013 09:57:00 -0400 Jolt Awards: The Best Books http://www.drdobbs.com/joltawards/jolt-awards-the-best-books/240162065 Five notable books every serious programmer should read. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 07:18:00 -0400 After Ballmer, What? http://www.drdobbs.com/windows/after-ballmer-what/240160507 Microsoft's situation might be unique, but its inability to assess the present and the future correctly is shared by many vendors. Tue, 27 Aug 2013 07:33:00 -0400 The Steady Emergence of PaaS http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/the-steady-emergence-of-paas/240159174 After the first wave of IaaS, the cloud market is turning to PaaS as the primary model for service delivery Tue, 30 Jul 2013 11:17:00 -0400 The Best of the First Half http://www.drdobbs.com/database/the-best-of-the-first-half/240157430 The most popular articles of the first half of the year, sprinkled with a few pieces carefully chosen by the editors. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 05:06:00 -0400 Pydoop: Writing Hadoop Programs in Python http://www.drdobbs.com/database/pydoop-writing-hadoop-programs-in-python/240156473 Installed as a layer above Hadoop, the open-source Pydoop package enables Python scripts to do big data work easily. Tue, 11 Jun 2013 12:53:00 -0400 Through A PRISM Darkly http://www.drdobbs.com/security/through-a-prism-darkly/240156377 The revelation of secret government eavesdropping is likely to substantially reshape companies' understanding of their data's safety. Mon, 10 Jun 2013 17:28:00 -0400 Acquiring Big Data Using Apache Flume http://www.drdobbs.com/database/acquiring-big-data-using-apache-flume/240155029 Data analysis is only half the battle; getting the data into a Hadoop cluster is the first step in any Big Data deployment. Apache Flume uses an elegant design to make data loading easy and efficient. Mon, 10 Jun 2013 08:07:00 -0400