Dr. Dobb's Parallel Articles http://www.drdobbs.com//parallel Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us Jolt Awards 2014: The Best Testing Tools http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/jolt-awards-2014-the-best-testing-tools/240168372 The best testing tools of the past 12 months Tue, 03 Jun 2014 07:42:00 -0400 Debugging 256 GPU Threads in Visual Studio 2013 http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/debugging-256-gpu-threads-in-visual-stud/240168088 With Microsoft C++ AMP and Visual Studio, you can easily debug hundreds of GPU threads. Tue, 06 May 2014 03:34:00 -0400 Debugging GPU Code in Microsoft C++ AMP http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/debugging-gpu-code-in-microsoft-c-amp/240168040 Visual Studio 2013 makes it much easier to debug parallel code running on the GPU Tue, 29 Apr 2014 03:09:00 -0400 Java 8 Arrives! http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/java-8-arrives/240166820 One of the biggest updates ever to a major language finally ships, delivering many new and very interesting features. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 12:07:00 -0400 Lambda Expressions in Java 8 http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/lambda-expressions-in-java-8/240166764 The single most important change in Java 8 enables faster, clearer coding and opens the door to functional programming. Here's how it works. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 05:46:00 -0400 Parallel Array Operations in Java 8 http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/parallel-array-operations-in-java-8/240166287 The new release of Java makes it simple to perform parallel operations on arrays — leading to substantially better performance with minimal additional code. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 02:14:00 -0400 Lambdas and Streams in Java 8 Libraries http://www.drdobbs.com/jvm/lambdas-and-streams-in-java-8-libraries/240166818 State of the Lambda: Libraries Edition Tue, 25 Mar 2014 01:23:00 -0400 Dave Thomas Interview: The Corruption of Agile; Ruby and Elixir; Katas and More http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/dave-thomas-interview-the-corruption-of/240166688 The pragmatic programmer who popularized Ruby and katas and was an original signatory of the Agile Manifesto discusses what's wrong with Agile, why he thinks Elixir is the next killer language, and how to design your own programming challenges. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 07:14:00 -0400 Developer Reading List http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/developer-reading-list/240166296 Java 8, JavaScript, Functional Programming, and Software Engineering Tue, 25 Feb 2014 08:02:00 -0500 The Best of 2013 http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/the-best-of-2013/240164956 The most popular articles of the year, sprinkled with a few pieces carefully chosen by the editors. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 03:21:00 -0500 Developer Reading List http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/developer-reading-list/240164389 Ruby, Python, ASP.NET, Android development, PDF, and more. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 06:41:00 -0500 2013 Developer Salary Survey http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/2013-developer-salary-survey/240163580 Our survey of more than 3,000 developers and managers shows that after several years of being flat, salaries are on the rise once again Tue, 05 Nov 2013 08:35:00 -0500 In Praise of Haskell http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/in-praise-of-haskell/240163246 An elegant, reliable, easy-to-maintain, high-level, parallel-friendly, native language. What's not to like? Tue, 29 Oct 2013 06:54:00 -0400 Amdahl's Law vs. Gustafson-Barsis' Law http://www.drdobbs.com/parallel/amdahls-law-vs-gustafson-barsis-law/240162980 The two laws of parallel performance quantify strong versus weak scalability and illustrate the balancing act that is parallel optimization. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 09:22:00 -0400 Continuous Delivery: The First Steps http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/continuous-delivery-the-first-steps/240161356 Continuous delivery integrates many practices that in their totality might seem daunting. But starting with a few basic steps brings immediate benefits. Here's how. Tue, 08 Oct 2013 04:46:00 -0400 Developing Android Apps with Scala and Scaloid: Part 2 http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/developing-android-apps-with-scala-and-s/240162204 Starting with templates, Android features can be added quickly with a single line of DSL code. Tue, 08 Oct 2013 02:48:00 -0400 Jolt Awards: The Best Books http://www.drdobbs.com/joltawards/jolt-awards-the-best-books/240162065 Five notable books every serious programmer should read. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 07:18:00 -0400 A Massively Parallel Stack for Data Allocation http://www.drdobbs.com/parallel/a-massively-parallel-stack-for-data-allo/240162018 A fast, constant, type memory allocator and parallel stack are essential for initiating kernel launches from the CUDA device Tue, 01 Oct 2013 01:36:00 -0400 Developing Android Apps with Scala and Scaloid: Part 1 http://www.drdobbs.com/mobile/developing-android-apps-with-scala-and-s/240161584 Build a UI layout by writing type-safe Scala code and wire your logic into the layout Tue, 24 Sep 2013 03:58:00 -0400 A Robust Histogram for Massive Parallelism http://www.drdobbs.com/parallel/a-robust-histogram-for-massive-paralleli/240161600 Preserving highly parallel performance when every thread is simultaneously trying to increment a single object Tue, 24 Sep 2013 02:11:00 -0400 Android on x86: Understanding Android Device Emulation http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/android-on-x86-understanding-android-dev/240161434 Building customizable emulators and setting up the appropriate environments for developing applications. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 09:08:00 -0400 CUDA: Unifying Host/Device Interactions with a Single C++ Macro http://www.drdobbs.com/parallel/cuda-unifying-hostdevice-interactions-wi/240161436 A general method to move data transparently between the host and the CUDA device. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 09:44:00 -0400 Atomic Operations and Low-Wait Algorithms in CUDA http://www.drdobbs.com/parallel/atomic-operations-and-low-wait-algorithm/240160177 Used correctly, atomic operations can help implement a wide range of generic data structures and algorithms in the massively threaded GPU programming environment. However, incorrect usage can turn massively parallel GPUs into poorly performing sequential processors. Tue, 20 Aug 2013 01:48:00 -0400 Debugging Multithreaded Applications in Windows http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/debugging-multithreaded-applications-in/240158201 End the frustration of tracking down thread-specific bugs with a few simple options in Visual Studio. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 03:10:00 -0400 Building Web Apps with Lift: Lazy Loading, Push, and Parallel Execution http://www.drdobbs.com/web-development/building-web-apps-with-lift-lazy-loading/240159513 Lift code is easy to read and maintain. Lazy loading, parallel execution, simple push mechanics, and REST support are just a few of Lift's stand-out benefits. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 03:00:00 -0400