Dr. Dobb's Tools Articles http://www.drdobbs.com//tools Dr. Dobb's Copyright 2013, United Business Media. en-us What Makes a Good Check-in? http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/what-makes-a-good-check-in/240168601 Few organizations have strong opinions and articulated policies on what a check-in should consist of. As long as the check-in is more or less usable in a code review, it's generally considered good enough. We can do better than this by making the contents of check-ins truly useful additions to the development process. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 03:35:00 -0400 Got Google? http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/got-google/240168592 Google services are everywhere. But knowing which ones to include in new apps is difficult due to the company's perceived lack of long-term commitment to products and APIs. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 08:35:00 -0400 Developer Reading List http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/developer-reading-list/240168591 The best summer reads. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 08:02:00 -0400 The Best of the First Half http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/the-best-of-the-first-half/240168580 The most popular articles of the first half of the year, sprinkled with a few pieces carefully chosen by the editors. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 02:12:00 -0400 Accessing C++11 Features of the Android NDK http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/accessing-c11-features-of-the-android-nd/240168385 C++11 language features are supported in the NDK, but they require a non-default configuration. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 03:41:00 -0400 Redmond's Remarkable Reversal http://www.drdobbs.com/windows/redmonds-remarkable-reversal/240168431 A company that topped the list of obvious casualties in the post-PC era has thrived due to surprising changes to the way it does things. Most especially, how it works with developers. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 02:54:00 -0400 The New asyncio in Python 3.4: Servers, Protocols, and Transports http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/the-new-asyncio-in-python-34-servers-pro/240168408 Coding advanced asynchronous I/O with Python's new high-level streams API. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 01:44:00 -0400 The New asyncio Module in Python 3.4: Event Loops http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/the-new-asyncio-module-in-python-34-even/240168401 An extensible module for I/O management greatly facilitates handling event loops. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 03:54:00 -0400 Testing Complex Systems http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/testing-complex-systems/240168390 An overview of a layered approach to testing complex systems. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 01:32:00 -0400 Jolt Awards 2014: The Best Testing Tools http://www.drdobbs.com/testing/jolt-awards-2014-the-best-testing-tools/240168372 The best testing tools of the past 12 months Tue, 03 Jun 2014 07:42:00 -0400 After Heartbleed: A Look at Languages that Support Provability http://www.drdobbs.com/open-source/after-heartbleed-a-look-at-languages-tha/240168236 The open-source SPARK 2014 language can prove that code correctly matches specs. This capability closes off vulnerabilities and illuminates logic errors in code. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 03:24:00 -0400 ASP.NET MVC 5.1 http://www.drdobbs.com/windows/aspnet-mvc-51/240168353 Some handy long-sought-after features are included in the latest release. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 01:53:00 -0400 Xamarin 3 Enterprise Edition Reviewed http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/xamarin-3-enterprise-edition-reviewed/240168321 With a state-of-the-art designer for iOS and Windows, seamless forms integration, more widgets, and simplified, integrated builds, Xamarin 3 finally realizes the dream of polished, high-quality, native iOS apps written in C# Wed, 28 May 2014 08:17:00 -0400 2014 Developer Salary Survey http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/2014-developer-salary-survey/240168195 Our survey of more than 2,200 U.S. developers shows salaries in a well-paid field are nudging up as the economy picks up steam. Tue, 13 May 2014 10:39:00 -0400 Debugging 256 GPU Threads in Visual Studio 2013 http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/debugging-256-gpu-threads-in-visual-stud/240168088 With Microsoft C++ AMP and Visual Studio, you can easily debug hundreds of GPU threads. Tue, 06 May 2014 03:34:00 -0400 Debugging GPU Code in Microsoft C++ AMP http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/debugging-gpu-code-in-microsoft-c-amp/240168040 Visual Studio 2013 makes it much easier to debug parallel code running on the GPU Tue, 29 Apr 2014 03:09:00 -0400 Jolt Awards 2014: The Best Programmer Libraries http://www.drdobbs.com/joltawards/jolt-awards-2014-the-best-programmer-lib/240167150 Astonishing collections of software bundled with superb design and coding tools Tue, 22 Apr 2014 11:24:00 -0400 Farewell, Devil's Advocate http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/farewell-devils-advocate/240167145 One of the finest writers and certainly the brightest wit in all of programming left a remarkable legacy of insightful, mordant, and densely rich commentary. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 07:36:00 -0400 Continuous Development: The New Maintenance Reality http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/continuous-development-the-new-maintenan/240167052 The Internet of Things will add so much programmability to devices that keeping software current will become a never-ending task. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 11:13:00 -0400 Lightweight Virtual Environments in Python 3.4 http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/lightweight-virtual-environments-in-pyth/240167069 Customizing Python's virtual environments for projects with conflicting library requirements or different Python versions is now easy in Python 3.3 and 3.4. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 07:03:00 -0400 LINQ-like List Manipulation in C++ http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/linq-like-list-manipulation-in-c/240166882 Using the open-source Cpplinq project to get Language-Integrated Query capabilities in C++11 Tue, 01 Apr 2014 03:44:00 -0400 Dave Thomas Interview: The Corruption of Agile; Ruby and Elixir; Katas and More http://www.drdobbs.com/architecture-and-design/dave-thomas-interview-the-corruption-of/240166688 The pragmatic programmer who popularized Ruby and katas and was an original signatory of the Agile Manifesto discusses what's wrong with Agile, why he thinks Elixir is the next killer language, and how to design your own programming challenges. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 07:14:00 -0400 The Most Underused Compiler Switches in Visual C++ http://www.drdobbs.com/cpp/the-most-underused-compiler-switches-in/240166599 Microsoft's Visual C++ team explains the nine most underused switches and why you should make sure to include them in your build. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 11:24:00 -0400 Developer Reading List http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/developer-reading-list/240166296 Java 8, JavaScript, Functional Programming, and Software Engineering Tue, 25 Feb 2014 08:02:00 -0500 Voice Throwing with Python and Android http://www.drdobbs.com/tools/voice-throwing-with-python-and-android/240166232 A simple project to get Android notifications spoken on your desktop computer Tue, 25 Feb 2014 02:38:00 -0500