Channels ▼

2009 AAAS Fellows Selected

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Council has elected 531 new members as Fellows of AAAS. These individuals will be recognized for their contributions to science and technology at the Fellows Forum to be held in February 2010 during the AAAS Annual Meeting in San Diego. The new Fellows will receive a certificate and a blue and gold rosette as a symbol of their distinguished accomplishments.

Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications. Nominations undergo review by the Steering Groups of the Association's sections (the Chair, Chair-Elect, Retiring Chair, Secretary, and four Members-at-Large of each section). Each Steering Group reviews only those nominations designated for its section. Names of Fellow nominees who are approved by the Steering Groups are presented to the AAAS Council for election.

In the section on Information, Computing, and Communication, the new AAAS Fellows are:

  • Marc Auslander, IBM Watson Research Center
  • Richard G. Baraniuk, Rice University
  • Alok Choudhary, Northwestern University
  • Narsingh Deo, University of Central Florida
  • James A. Gosling, Sun Microsystems
  • Anthony J.G. Hey, Microsoft Corporation
  • Eric Horvitz, Microsoft Corporation
  • Henry C. Kelly, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Thomas F. Knight, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • David B. Lomet, Microsoft Corporation
  • Keshav K. Pingali, University of Texas, Austin
  • Sanguthevar Rajasekaran, University of Connecticut
  • Jeffrey S. Vitter, Texas A&M University
  • Ouri Wolfson, University of Illinois, Chicago

The AAAS is an international nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson. and professional association. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science, as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and spearheads programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide.

Related Reading

More Insights

Currently we allow the following HTML tags in comments:

Single tags

These tags can be used alone and don't need an ending tag.

<br> Defines a single line break

<hr> Defines a horizontal line

Matching tags

These require an ending tag - e.g. <i>italic text</i>

<a> Defines an anchor

<b> Defines bold text

<big> Defines big text

<blockquote> Defines a long quotation

<caption> Defines a table caption

<cite> Defines a citation

<code> Defines computer code text

<em> Defines emphasized text

<fieldset> Defines a border around elements in a form

<h1> This is heading 1

<h2> This is heading 2

<h3> This is heading 3

<h4> This is heading 4

<h5> This is heading 5

<h6> This is heading 6

<i> Defines italic text

<p> Defines a paragraph

<pre> Defines preformatted text

<q> Defines a short quotation

<samp> Defines sample computer code text

<small> Defines small text

<span> Defines a section in a document

<s> Defines strikethrough text

<strike> Defines strikethrough text

<strong> Defines strong text

<sub> Defines subscripted text

<sup> Defines superscripted text

<u> Defines underlined text

Dr. Dobb's encourages readers to engage in spirited, healthy debate, including taking us to task. However, Dr. Dobb's moderates all comments posted to our site, and reserves the right to modify or remove any content that it determines to be derogatory, offensive, inflammatory, vulgar, irrelevant/off-topic, racist or obvious marketing or spam. Dr. Dobb's further reserves the right to disable the profile of any commenter participating in said activities.

Disqus Tips To upload an avatar photo, first complete your Disqus profile. | View the list of supported HTML tags you can use to style comments. | Please read our commenting policy.