Dr. Dobb's is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Channels ▼


UTSA Institute for Cyber Security Awarded Grant from DoD

The University of Texas at San Antonio's Institute for Cyber Security (ICS) has been selected to participate in a five-year, $7.5 million Department of Defense Multi University Research Initiative (MURI) grant. Leading the UTSA team of investigators is Ravi Sandhu and Shouhuai Xu. Sandhu holds multiple positions as executive director of ICS, Lutcher Brown Endowed Chair in Cyber Security, and as a professor in the UTSA Department of Computer Science. Xu serves as an assistant professor of computer science in the UTSA Department of Computer Science.

In partnership with The University of Maryland at Baltimore County, Purdue University, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, University of Michigan, and The University of Texas at Dallas, UTSA's Institute for Cyber Security Research role will be to develop and test security models to safeguard the transfer of data among government agencies.

The UTSA Institute for Cyber Security was created in June 2007 with a $3.5 million grant from the Texas Emerging Technology Fund. This award was the first proposal submitted by the ICS and will bring $1 million directly to UTSA. The ICS mission is to produce world-class cybersecurity research and to catalyze the commercialization of leading edge security and privacy innovations.

MURI grants support multidisciplinary basic research in areas of DoD relevance that intersect more than one traditional science and engineering discipline. For research areas suited to a multidisciplinary approaches, bringing together scientists and engineers with different disciplinary backgrounds can accelerate both basic research progress and transition of research results to application.

Related Reading

More Insights

Currently we allow the following HTML tags in comments:

Single tags

These tags can be used alone and don't need an ending tag.

<br> Defines a single line break

<hr> Defines a horizontal line

Matching tags

These require an ending tag - e.g. <i>italic text</i>

<a> Defines an anchor

<b> Defines bold text

<big> Defines big text

<blockquote> Defines a long quotation

<caption> Defines a table caption

<cite> Defines a citation

<code> Defines computer code text

<em> Defines emphasized text

<fieldset> Defines a border around elements in a form

<h1> This is heading 1

<h2> This is heading 2

<h3> This is heading 3

<h4> This is heading 4

<h5> This is heading 5

<h6> This is heading 6

<i> Defines italic text

<p> Defines a paragraph

<pre> Defines preformatted text

<q> Defines a short quotation

<samp> Defines sample computer code text

<small> Defines small text

<span> Defines a section in a document

<s> Defines strikethrough text

<strike> Defines strikethrough text

<strong> Defines strong text

<sub> Defines subscripted text

<sup> Defines superscripted text

<u> Defines underlined text

Dr. Dobb's encourages readers to engage in spirited, healthy debate, including taking us to task. However, Dr. Dobb's moderates all comments posted to our site, and reserves the right to modify or remove any content that it determines to be derogatory, offensive, inflammatory, vulgar, irrelevant/off-topic, racist or obvious marketing or spam. Dr. Dobb's further reserves the right to disable the profile of any commenter participating in said activities.

Disqus Tips To upload an avatar photo, first complete your Disqus profile. | View the list of supported HTML tags you can use to style comments. | Please read our commenting policy.