Channels ▼

Undergraduate Computer Researcher Award Winners

The Computing Research Association (CRA) is an association of more than 200 North American academic departments of computer science, computer engineering, and related fields; laboratories and centers in industry, government, and academia engaging in basic computing research; and affiliated professional societies. The CRA annually honors undergraduate students in North American universities who show outstanding research potential in an area of computing research. Microsoft Research and Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs are sponsors in alternate years.

The recipients of the CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Awards for 2010, sponsored this year by Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs, are:

  • Justine Sherry, University of Washington, for her work developing several techniques to measure unknown aspects of the Internet. She contributed critical timestamp-based algorithms to the Reverse Traceroute project, which discovers routing paths from a distant host back to a local source, improving both its accuracy and coverage. She also contributed to developing solutions to two other Internet measurement problems using IP timestamps: router alias resolution and measuring the one-way latency of backbone links.
  • Elyot Grant, University of Waterloo, for his work with Kuratowski's theorem on closures in topological spaces and how it relates to formal languages. In particular, he discovered a clever and subtle proof that there is a clopen partition between two words if, and only if, the words do not commute. He also contributed to a project on combinatorics and optimization, and produced interesting results on approximation algorithms for NP-hard covering problems.
  • Matt McCutchen, University of Maryland, who worked on streaming algorithms for clustering and developed a new algorithm for handling outliers. Matt also has worked on various projects in the area of programming languages. Aside from research, he has qualified for the International Olympiad of Informatics three times, winning two gold medals and one silver medal.

Runners-up this year are:

  • Lucy Vasserman, Pomona College
  • Xuexin (Alice) Zhu, Harvey Mudd College
  • Zachary Abel, Harvard University
  • Di Wang, Cornell University

This year's selection committee included Dick Waters (Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs) Chair; Michelle Craig (University of Toronto); Ann Gates (University of Texas at El Paso); Eric Grimson (MIT); and Hank Korth (Lehigh University).

Finalists for the CRA 2010 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award were:

  • Andreea Bodnari, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Svetlana Lockwood, Washington State University
  • Kyle Rector, Oregon State University
  • Rita Sodt, University of Washington
  • Olga Zverovich, Harvard University
  • Aleksandr Arkhipov, MIT
  • Paul Caravelli, Georgetown University
  • George Chen, UC Berkeley
  • Andrew Owens, Cornell University
  • Volodymyr Kuleshov, McGill University
  • Tom Morgan, MIT
  • Peng Shi, Duke University
  • John Silberholz, University of Maryland
  • Edgar Solomonik, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

CRA Honorable Mentions went to:

  • Jacqueline Addesa, Virginia Tech
  • Christina Brandt, Cornell University
  • Heather Buletti, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Jeannette Chang, University of Southern California
  • Jennifer Chen, Princeton University
  • Nina Chen, New York University
  • Milka Doktorova, Mount Holyoke College
  • Shelley Gao, University of Victoria
  • Allison Hoch, University of Maryland
  • Beenish Jamil, George Mason University
  • Kateryna Kuksenok, Oberlin College
  • Rachel Lathbury, University of Virginia
  • Ainsley Lawson, University Toronto
  • JaMia Moore, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
  • Jamila Salari, University of British Columbia
  • Corietta Teshera-Sterne, Mount Holyoke College
  • Manasi Vartak, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Ali Assaf, McGill University
  • Stephen Bach, Georgetown University
  • Brandon Blakeley, University of Texas at Austin
  • Gabriel Charette, McGill University
  • Jesse Cohen, Harvard University
  • Yi Ding, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Daniel Eisenberg, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Adam Ernst, Princeton University
  • Ethan Fast, University of Virginia
  • William Hamilton, Texas A&M University
  • Robert Hendry, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
  • Jonathan Jenkins, Lafayette College
  • Sam Kerr, Purdue University
  • Eric Kimbrel, University of Washington
  • Boyan Li, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Cedric Yen Yu Lin, University of British Columbia
  • Christopher Louie, UC San Diego
  • Barry Lumpkin, Arizona State University
  • Gabriel Martinez, Virginia Tech
  • Sajid Omar Mehmood, Princeton University
  • David S. Noble, Jr., University of Virginia
  • Oleg Ovchinnikov, University of Tennessee
  • Jordan Rhee, UC San Diego
  • Garett Ridge, University of Louisville
  • Daniel Ritchie, UC Berkeley
  • Alejandra Vega, University of Texas at El Paso
  • John Wright, University of Texas at Austin

Related Reading

More Insights

Currently we allow the following HTML tags in comments:

Single tags

These tags can be used alone and don't need an ending tag.

<br> Defines a single line break

<hr> Defines a horizontal line

Matching tags

These require an ending tag - e.g. <i>italic text</i>

<a> Defines an anchor

<b> Defines bold text

<big> Defines big text

<blockquote> Defines a long quotation

<caption> Defines a table caption

<cite> Defines a citation

<code> Defines computer code text

<em> Defines emphasized text

<fieldset> Defines a border around elements in a form

<h1> This is heading 1

<h2> This is heading 2

<h3> This is heading 3

<h4> This is heading 4

<h5> This is heading 5

<h6> This is heading 6

<i> Defines italic text

<p> Defines a paragraph

<pre> Defines preformatted text

<q> Defines a short quotation

<samp> Defines sample computer code text

<small> Defines small text

<span> Defines a section in a document

<s> Defines strikethrough text

<strike> Defines strikethrough text

<strong> Defines strong text

<sub> Defines subscripted text

<sup> Defines superscripted text

<u> Defines underlined text

Dr. Dobb's encourages readers to engage in spirited, healthy debate, including taking us to task. However, Dr. Dobb's moderates all comments posted to our site, and reserves the right to modify or remove any content that it determines to be derogatory, offensive, inflammatory, vulgar, irrelevant/off-topic, racist or obvious marketing or spam. Dr. Dobb's further reserves the right to disable the profile of any commenter participating in said activities.

Disqus Tips To upload an avatar photo, first complete your Disqus profile. | View the list of supported HTML tags you can use to style comments. | Please read our commenting policy.