Dr. Dobb's is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Channels ▼


ACM Distinguished Members Recognized for Computing Innovations

The ACM (the Association for Computing Machinery) has named 47 of its members as 2010 Distinguished Members in recognition of their individual contributions to practical and theoretical aspects of computing that drive innovation and sustain economic competitiveness.  This year's Distinguished Members include computer engineers and scientists who represent academic and corporate institutions from a broad spectrum of countries and disciplines.

Nearly 40 percent of the 2010 honorees are from non-North American countries, including France, Germany, Italy, China, Taiwan, Singapore, Australia, India, and South Africa. The new Distinguished Members are recognized for significant advances in computing technology that have dramatically influenced progress in science, engineering, business, and many other areas of human endeavor.

"This year's Distinguished Members reflect the growing international diversity of ACM's membership and our commitment to recognizing excellence throughout the computing world," said Alain Chesnais, president of ACM. "These prominent men and women have met the stringent criteria for this honor by demonstrating creativity, leadership, and dedication to computing and computer science.  Their achievements buttress the innovations that sustain competitiveness in a global economy. We applaud their entrepreneurial and creative spirit and its beneficial impact on society."

The ACM Distinguished Member program can recognize the top 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field. ACM's current worldwide membership exceeds 97,000.

The recipients were recognized for achievements in cybersecurity, software engineering and architecture, data mining and management, Web systems, 3D user interfaces, interactive multimedia, biomedical computing, programming language implementation, Web performance evaluation, computer architecture virtualization, mobile computing, wireless networking, and Web image and information retrieval.

The following ACM Members have been recognized as 2010 ACM Distinguished Engineers:

  • Anderson, Mark S., Defence Science and Technology Organisation, Australia
  • Fong, Liana L., IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
  • Northrop, Linda M., SEI, Carnegie Mellon Universtiy
  • Waldspurger, Carl A., VMware, Inc.
  • Wolfson, Dan, IBM Software Group
  • Woo, Andrew, NGRAIN (Canada) Corporation, Vancouver, BC, Canada

The following ACM Members have been recognized as Distinguished Scientists:

  • Agrawal, Divyakant, University of California at Santa Barbara
  • Arlitt, Martin F., Hewlett Packard Laboratories/University of Calgary
  • Bala, Vasanth, IBM Research
  • Blake, M. Brian, University of Notre Dame
  • Bowman, Doug A., Virginia Tech
  • Chrysanthis, Panos K., University of Pittsburgh
  • Churchill, Elizabeth F., Yahoo! Research
  • Cowan, Donald D., University of Waterloo
  • Duesterwald, Evelyn, IBM Research
  • EL Saddik, Abdulmotaleb, University of Ottawa
  • Fdida, Serge, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France
  • Feng, Wu-chun, Virginia Tech
  • Gilbert, Juan E., Clemson University
  • Grove, David, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
  • Hall, Mary Wolcott, University of Utah
  • Hu, Y. Charlie, Purdue University
  • Kalyanaraman, Shivkumar, IBM Research - Bangalore, India
  • Liu, Huan, Arizona State University
  • Ma, Wei-Ying, Microsoft Research Asia, Beijing, China
  • Maarek, Yoelle, Yahoo! Research, Haifa, Israel
  • Maglio, Paul P., IBM Research - Almaden
  • Mandrioli, Dino G., Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Marwala, Tshilidzi, University of Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Murphy, Gail C., University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
  • Ng, Hwee Tou, National University of Singapore, Republic of Singapore
  • Pollock, Lori, University of Delaware
  • Ramjee, Ramachandran, Microsoft Research India, Bangalore
  • Reinhardt, Steven K., Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Sears, Andrew, UMBC
  • Seiferas, Joel I., University of Rochester
  • Shieh, Shiuhpyng, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Sivasubramaniam, Anand, Pennsylvania State University
  • Skadron, Kevin, University of Virginia
  • Thuraisingham, Bhavani, The University of Texas at Dallas
  • Tichy, Walter F., Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Touch, Joseph, University of Southern California
  • Wolman, Alec, Microsoft Research
  • Wu, Kesheng, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Xu, Jun, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Zaki, Mohammed J., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Zhuge, Hai, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China

Related Reading

More Insights

Currently we allow the following HTML tags in comments:

Single tags

These tags can be used alone and don't need an ending tag.

<br> Defines a single line break

<hr> Defines a horizontal line

Matching tags

These require an ending tag - e.g. <i>italic text</i>

<a> Defines an anchor

<b> Defines bold text

<big> Defines big text

<blockquote> Defines a long quotation

<caption> Defines a table caption

<cite> Defines a citation

<code> Defines computer code text

<em> Defines emphasized text

<fieldset> Defines a border around elements in a form

<h1> This is heading 1

<h2> This is heading 2

<h3> This is heading 3

<h4> This is heading 4

<h5> This is heading 5

<h6> This is heading 6

<i> Defines italic text

<p> Defines a paragraph

<pre> Defines preformatted text

<q> Defines a short quotation

<samp> Defines sample computer code text

<small> Defines small text

<span> Defines a section in a document

<s> Defines strikethrough text

<strike> Defines strikethrough text

<strong> Defines strong text

<sub> Defines subscripted text

<sup> Defines superscripted text

<u> Defines underlined text

Dr. Dobb's encourages readers to engage in spirited, healthy debate, including taking us to task. However, Dr. Dobb's moderates all comments posted to our site, and reserves the right to modify or remove any content that it determines to be derogatory, offensive, inflammatory, vulgar, irrelevant/off-topic, racist or obvious marketing or spam. Dr. Dobb's further reserves the right to disable the profile of any commenter participating in said activities.

Disqus Tips To upload an avatar photo, first complete your Disqus profile. | View the list of supported HTML tags you can use to style comments. | Please read our commenting policy.