Dr. Dobb's is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Channels ▼


PRACE Award 2010 Winners Announced

The Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe (PRACE) awards a prize for an outstanding scientific paper submitted to the International Supercomputing Conference (ISC) by a European student or young scientist on petascaling. The PRACE Award will be presented for the third time at the ISC'10 in Hamburg, Germany, taking place May 30 to June 3.

The PRACE Award 2010 winners are Klaus Iglberger, M. Sc., and Professor Ulrich Rude from the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany. Their paper "Massively Parallel Granular Flow Simulations with Non-Spherical Particles" was declared as the winning paper among the excellent submissions.

The PRACE Award drew a submission of 21 papers. The winner was selected by the ISC Award Committee, led by Professor Michael Resch, Director of HLRS.

"The paper proposed by Iglberger and Rude addresses successfully the issue of simulating flows of granular materials in a realistic way, that is with particles of different shapes moving in a complex environment. It introduces a new algorithm for this purpose that shows an excellent scalability on a very high number of cores, making possible very large simulations that will be useful in important applications like the design of silos." said Francois Robin (GENCI), member of the ISC Award Committee. "Among the very good papers submitted for the PRACE Award 2010, this paper was the best both addressing a complex physical problem and implementation of a highly scalable method for solving it.

The prize will be presented at the opening session of ISC'10 on Monday, May 31, in Hamburg, Germany. The much-anticipated TOP 500 list of the fastest supercomputers in the world will be released at the same session.

The authors of the PRACE Award winning paper have the opportunity to give a keynote talk on their work at the ISC'10 Scientific Sessions. The winners will receive a PRACE sponsorship for the participation in a training event or a conference relevant to petascale computing.

Related Reading

More Insights

Currently we allow the following HTML tags in comments:

Single tags

These tags can be used alone and don't need an ending tag.

<br> Defines a single line break

<hr> Defines a horizontal line

Matching tags

These require an ending tag - e.g. <i>italic text</i>

<a> Defines an anchor

<b> Defines bold text

<big> Defines big text

<blockquote> Defines a long quotation

<caption> Defines a table caption

<cite> Defines a citation

<code> Defines computer code text

<em> Defines emphasized text

<fieldset> Defines a border around elements in a form

<h1> This is heading 1

<h2> This is heading 2

<h3> This is heading 3

<h4> This is heading 4

<h5> This is heading 5

<h6> This is heading 6

<i> Defines italic text

<p> Defines a paragraph

<pre> Defines preformatted text

<q> Defines a short quotation

<samp> Defines sample computer code text

<small> Defines small text

<span> Defines a section in a document

<s> Defines strikethrough text

<strike> Defines strikethrough text

<strong> Defines strong text

<sub> Defines subscripted text

<sup> Defines superscripted text

<u> Defines underlined text

Dr. Dobb's encourages readers to engage in spirited, healthy debate, including taking us to task. However, Dr. Dobb's moderates all comments posted to our site, and reserves the right to modify or remove any content that it determines to be derogatory, offensive, inflammatory, vulgar, irrelevant/off-topic, racist or obvious marketing or spam. Dr. Dobb's further reserves the right to disable the profile of any commenter participating in said activities.

Disqus Tips To upload an avatar photo, first complete your Disqus profile. | View the list of supported HTML tags you can use to style comments. | Please read our commenting policy.