Channels ▼


IEEE Honors Industry Pioneers

Gordon Moore, co-founder and chairman of the board, emeritus, at Intel, heads up a list of individuals and organizations being honored by the IEEE Foundation. Moore is receiving the 2008 IEEE Medal of Honor for his contributions to the advancement of semiconductor technology, both as an engineer and entrepreneur, and for helping to shape the global electronics industry.

According to the IEEE, this year's honorees have created many of the technologies and applications that are used by individuals and businesses everyday -- innovations to meet the world's challenges. These and the other recipients will be recognized for their contributions to technology.

The 2008 IEEE Medal and Award Recipients include:

  • Gordon E. Moore, Chairman of the Board, Emeritus, Intel, "For pioneering technical roles in integrated-circuit processing, and leadership in the development of MOS memory, the microprocessor computer and the semiconductor industry."
  • Gerard J. Foschini , Bell Labs Fellow, Wireless Communications Research Department, Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent, "For seminal contributions to the science and technology of multiple-antenna wireless communications."
  • Chrysostomos L. (Max) Nikias, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor of Electrical Engineering-Systems, University of Southern California. "For outstanding leadership in engineering systems research and education, and for pioneering contributions to integrated media systems for the entertainment industry."
  • Sergio Verdu, Professor of Electrical Engineering, Department of Electrical Engineering, Electrical Engingeering Department, Princeton University, IEEE Richard W. Hamming, "For fundamental contributions to information theory and the development of multiuser detection."
  • Leslie Lamport, Researcher, Microsoft , IEEE John Von Neumann, "For establishment of the foundations of distributed and concurrent computing."
  • James T. (Tom) Cain, Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Pittsburgh, IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award, "For valuable contributions to the Institute's publications and for the advancement of electrical and computer engineering in engineering curricula."
  • Research In Motion (RIM), IEEE Corporate Innovation Recognition, "For developing and promoting the Blackberry, and thereby transforming the mobile work environment."
  • Paul R. Gray, Professor, Provost, University of California, Berkeley, IEEE Robert N. Noyce Medal, "For pioneering the development of analog integrated circuits."
  • Dov Frohman-Bentchkowsky, Retired, Vice President and General Manager, Intel Israel, IEEE Edison Medal, "For pioneering the development of the MOS Erasable, Programmable Read Only Memory (EPROM), a key enabler of the information age revolution."
  • Joseph Bordogna, Alfred Fitler Moore Professor of Engineering, University of Pennsylvania, Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering, IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal, "For creative contributions to engineering education through leadership in integrating research and education."
  • Steven B. Sample, President, University of Southern California, IEEE Founders, "For leadership in higher education and the engineering profession, and for pioneering contributions to consumer electronics."
  • Robert M. Gray, Lucent Technologies Professor of Engineering, Electrical Engineering Department, Stanford University, IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal, "For contributions to vector quantization and signal compression techniques."
  • Wolfgang Helfrich, Professor, Institute fur The Theoretische Physik, Freie University, Berlin, Germany; Martin Schadt, MS High-Tech Consulting, Managing Director, and James Fergason, Fergason Patent Properties LLC, Founder and Member, IEEE Jun-ichi Nishizawa Medal, "For pioneering development of twisted-nematic liquid crystal technology."
  • Yaakov Bar-Shalom, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor and Marianne E. Klewin Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Connecticut, IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications, "For contributions to techniques for radar target tracking in clutter."
  • Maurice Papo, Independent Senior Consultant, IEEE Haraden Pratt Award, "For furthering IEEE transnational activities and for conceiving and implementing major operational improvements leading to more effective and efficient IEEE volunteer activities."
  • Jong Yong Yun, Vice Chairman and CEO, Samsung Electronics, Co., Ltd., IEEE Honorary Membership, "For exceptional achievements in pioneering technology-drive innovation within the electronics industry, advancing engineering education, and encouraging a multidisciplinary engineering community."
  • Timothy Berners-Lee, Director of the World Wide Web Consortium and Science Researcher, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab (CSAIL), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, IEEE Royal Society Edinburgh Wolfson James Clerk Maxwell Award, "For conceiving and further developing the World Wide Web."

Related Reading

More Insights

Currently we allow the following HTML tags in comments:

Single tags

These tags can be used alone and don't need an ending tag.

<br> Defines a single line break

<hr> Defines a horizontal line

Matching tags

These require an ending tag - e.g. <i>italic text</i>

<a> Defines an anchor

<b> Defines bold text

<big> Defines big text

<blockquote> Defines a long quotation

<caption> Defines a table caption

<cite> Defines a citation

<code> Defines computer code text

<em> Defines emphasized text

<fieldset> Defines a border around elements in a form

<h1> This is heading 1

<h2> This is heading 2

<h3> This is heading 3

<h4> This is heading 4

<h5> This is heading 5

<h6> This is heading 6

<i> Defines italic text

<p> Defines a paragraph

<pre> Defines preformatted text

<q> Defines a short quotation

<samp> Defines sample computer code text

<small> Defines small text

<span> Defines a section in a document

<s> Defines strikethrough text

<strike> Defines strikethrough text

<strong> Defines strong text

<sub> Defines subscripted text

<sup> Defines superscripted text

<u> Defines underlined text

Dr. Dobb's encourages readers to engage in spirited, healthy debate, including taking us to task. However, Dr. Dobb's moderates all comments posted to our site, and reserves the right to modify or remove any content that it determines to be derogatory, offensive, inflammatory, vulgar, irrelevant/off-topic, racist or obvious marketing or spam. Dr. Dobb's further reserves the right to disable the profile of any commenter participating in said activities.

Disqus Tips To upload an avatar photo, first complete your Disqus profile. | View the list of supported HTML tags you can use to style comments. | Please read our commenting policy.